Connections 2 Media (#2)

  1. I watched Lo and Behold, Reveries of the Connected World (2016) today. Conveniently located on Netfilx, the documentary syncs up with an essay from Emerging: Contemporary Readings for Writings 2nd Edition titled “The Hive” by Marshall Poe. Lo and Behold examines the internet from best to worst, but gives the audience space to decide for themselves the value of the world wide web.
  2. Also on Netflix, Oliver Stone’s Untold History of the United States is an excellent documentary series that I cannot recommend enough. Not only should it be invaluable information for students, but it will be eye opening to many academics outside contemporary American studies. Oliver Stone has created a documentary I’ve been dreaming of for a long time. As a child I was always disappointed by the lack of history in my American history classes, so I had to go looking for the stories myself. Suffice to say, there are still numerous gaps in my knowledge, but Untold History of the United States answered a number of political questions I and my students have been asking these past two years.

 

Leave a Reply

